Saturday, April 13, 2013

Astrology - and stars, an interesting subject for everyone.

I was teaching the Field Astronomy in the classroom. Field astronomy is about locating the position of the heavenly bodies. I have so many common terms in there to relate with the astrological terms.
There are 12 Rashis, which are actual the groups of stars on the sky which are visible to us. These 12 groups are having the names, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpion, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius Pisces.
We know that the path of the Sun around the earth(if we assume the earth to be stationary) is elliptic, and it is inclined to the equator with an angle of 23 degree 27 minutes.  The points of intersection of the elliptic with the equator are known as the equinoxes, i.e. the first point of Aries and the first point of Libra. When the Sun reaches to its greatest height with respect to equator, the positions are known as the solstices, i.e. first point of Cancer and first point of Capricorn.
When the Sun reaches the first point of Aries on  22nd March, it is on the equator and it is the start of the summer in the north pole. It remains in Aries for one month, and then it enters the Taurus. That is why the people born in this period have the Sun sign of the Aries.
In a year of 365 days the Sun takes the place of the each Rashi for about one month. So there are 12 Sun signs of the people. Similarly we can find the path of the planets around the earth and we can know that which planet is in which Rashi. So we can learn the astrology this way.
Note to my lovely readers: 
I hope that the post was enjoyable and knowledgeable to you, I will post more if you keep reading and inspiring me.

No comments:

Post a Comment